Sunday Sermons

“The ultimate test of my understanding of the scriptural teaching is the amount of time I spend in prayer. As theology is ultimately the knowledge of God, the more theology I know, the more it should drive me to seek to know God. Not to know “about” Him but to know Him! The whole object of salvation is to bring me to knowledge of God… If all my knowledge does not lead me to prayer there is something wrong somewhere.” Martyn Lloyd-Jones

I am thankful to my husband Derick for posting this quote last week on his facebook page. It had more meaning to me this past Sunday as I listened to a sermon on the Trinity. The sermon was a simple explanation that we have one God who exists in three separate persons.

As I sat listening I was moved by the fact that such a basic knowledge of God moves my heart to rejoice and worship Him. I am thankful to the Holy Spirit for His work in my heart that helps to take a truth of God to move me closer in my relationship to God.

I then started questioning why I do not have more moments like that. I realized I usually step away from thinking on these wonderful truths like the Trinity. Then I realized that it is because these truths remind me how finite and small I am. But it is when I realize I am small that I see God in all His true majesty and it is then I find joy because I see God.

Think on the truths of God today. Let it bring you closer to Him and experience true joy today.

Leave a Reply

