Money = Unhappiness

In a past article I have posted a book review regarding Randy Alcorn’s Safely Home.  Definitely one of the best books I have ever read. I started to read one of his first books Money, Possession and Eternity, after reading his personal testimony. Which you can read here. It is an awesome story of grace. Randy preached about giving up money and possessions to serve the Lord and when the Lord called him to do so, he left all to follow Christ.

In our Shepherd Group this month we are also reading a book called Radical by David Platt. Another great book challenging me to abandon all especially money, and love of this world to follow Christ. To love the gospel as I should and live as a true follower of Christ. Void of the weight and distractions of this world.

I love that God is using (not so subtle) hints to draw my heart to Him. What are the odds that after reading Safely Home in my book club, reading Money, Possessions and Eternity as a part of my devotions, and now Radical in my Sunday School class. Below are a few quotes that the Lord has really used to challenge my American, consumer driven life to turn my heart back to him.

“The soul is a spiritual thing, riches are of an earthly extract, and how can these fill a spiritual substance? How man does thirst after the world, but, alas, it falls short of his expectation. It cannot fill the hiatus and longing of his soul.” Thomas Watson

“Most people chase their mirages with money, but they run out of money before they run out of mirages. So they still believe the lie that ‘if only I had more money, then I’d be happy.’ But Solomon had it all. He had more money than he could possibly spend. He chased down every mirage. He ran out of mirages before he ran out of money.” Randy Alcorn

Leave a Reply

