Back from the Holidays

Hi Readers! I trust you all had a wonderful Christmas. This Christmas was not our typical routine of celebration, but it was still a great time.

My mother-in-law has been suffering from severe stomach pain for the last couple of months. A few weeks before Christmas the doctor’s were convinced they had solved the problem and told her that she should be operated on immediately. However, during the operation, they realized they were wrong. They couldn’t find anything wrong and so the operation was pointless. It has been/and still is a long road of recovery but my mother-in-law was back home the week of Christmas.

Then, it was my father-in-laws turn. He went into the hospital the week of Christmas with an infection. He had his own operation and was home in about a day. It was a discouraging time, and it definitely didn’t seem to be “the most wonderful time of the year.” However, it gave Derick and I a new perspective. It was a reminder that we need to enjoy our time with family while we can.

For obvious reasons, Derick preached for his dad on Christmas and it was one of the best I have heard from him, not that I’m biased. I linked the sermon below and hope you have a chance to listen. It was a great sermon to remind us of the reason for celebration on Christmas and every other day of the year.

The Lion of Judah

2 responses to “Back from the Holidays

  1. I listened to Derick’s sermon. I don’t know what his other sermons are, but you’re right: this one was top-notch. Story is so powerful.

Leave a Reply

