Safely Home by Randy Alcorn

If you would like a deeper perspective on your life or a greater hope of Heaven I highly recommend reading Randy Alcorn’s Safely Home. I just finished reading it this week for book club and will never be the same. At least I pray I don’t. It has changed my perspective on life more than any devotional book I have ever read. It has quickly risen to the top of my list of favorite books.

Even though the book is written as fiction, there are a lot of truths both from Scripture and from events that are currently taking place around the world. The book compares America’s Christianity with the persecution of the Chinese Underground Church. The suffering of those around the world will move you, but more than that it will challenge your own faith. I was constantly convicted by my lack of sacrifice for the Lord, my lack of love for the Word of God, my desire for comfort over service for my King. Mostly, I was convicted that I have been living for the temporal of this life over a desire to store up for myself treasures in Heaven. This book gives you a perspective of how short this life really is compared to the eternity we will one day face. I have been challenged so deeply. I want my life to display the gospel in everything. I want to speak out more for my Savior, while I have the freedom to do it. This world is not my home and I need to start living as though that were true.

I challenge you, if you haven’t already, to read this book. I would love to hear from you and your thoughts on the book. If you buy Safely Home or any other of Randy Alcorn’s books 100% of the proceeds go toward Pro-Life charities.

Leave a Reply

