Sunday Sermons The Lord Is My Shepherd

Jehovah-Rohi

The Eternally Self-existent One is my Shepherd

    The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
He makes me lie down in green pastures.
He leads me beside still waters.
He restores my soul.
He leads me in paths of righteousness
for his name’s sake.
Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.
(Psalm 23:1-4 ESV)

Last Sunday was a little rough. It was one of those Sundays where, through different circumstances, I wound up being at church but not able to go to any services. The Lord knew it would happen, but unfortunately I didn’t handle it the way I needed to. The rest of the week I really struggled spiritually. I struggled with fear, I wasn’t spending time with God, and I was falling further away from the Lord.

This Sunday God was a Good Shepherd. He brought me back to His fold. He opened my mouth gently and fed me as a nursing lamb. This Sunday all the services were what I needed to hear and strengthened me as a Christian. My Shepherd restored my soul.

Today my Pastor taught on God as my Shepherd. I love that the God of the universe is also my Shepherd who lovingly tends to my needs. May He be glorified. Below is a brief summary for your meditation on how the Lord is my Shepherd.

The LORD my Shepherd supplies my every need. “I shall not want”

The LORD my Shepherd quiets my heart “makes me lie down”

The LORD my Shepherd gives me eternal life “restores my soul”

The LORD my Shepherd guides me “He guides me”

The LORD my Shepherd glorifies Himself through me “For His name’s sake”

The LORD my Shepherd is near me “You are with me”

Lord, help us to be content with You and You alone as our Good Shepherd.

 

Leave a Reply

