I Don’t Know About This New Baby

Today we had our 20 week ultrasound. They check the heart, kidneys, and overall development. But the real reason we go is to find the gender. I’ve been asked several times over the last couple of weeks what the baby is, boy or girl! I was hoping today to finally have a definitive answer, but no such luck! The baby was moving all around. In addition, the cord was right in between the legs (just like before) and the legs were crossed. So, we just don’t know.
This is not too surprising for me since there has been nothing ordinary about this pregnancy, but I was really hoping we would find out. Derick and I have the hardest time agreeing on baby names and now we have to pick two just in case.
The doctor’s were somewhat sure it was a girl, but really couldn’t give us a definite. Some people ask me if I have a intuition about it, but I never do. Well, I think sometimes I do, but I wind up being wrong. So, we will see if in a couple of weeks we will go back for another shot or wait to be surprised.
My sister-in-law gave me the most encouraging thoughts when I told her the situation she said, “He or she is definitely known to God, and I guess God wants us to know later.” Thank you Becky. I like the thought of God having his special secret with my newest little one. I hope to know soon what I am having, but if we don’t find out until the birth it will be one great surprise. It also might give me some kind of distraction while in labor.

Leave a Reply

