Slipping on Ellen and other promises from the World

My previous post was all about the blessings I have recently experienced from the hand of the Almighty God. However, the weeks and months and even year before I experienced the answers to my prayers there was a time of crying out to the Lord.

I recently have been meditating on Psalm 73.

Truly God is good to Israel,

to those who are pure in heart.

But as for me, my feet had almost stumbled,

my steps had nearly slipped.

For I was envious of the arrogant

when I saw the prosperity of the wicked.

I am ashamed sometimes to admit it, but I do on occasion watch daytime television. I enjoy celebrity interviews. I like watching Nate Berkus, Regis and Kelly, and even Ellen. (My husband often tells me that whenever he has happened to watch day time television he can feel his soul shrinking.) Recently however, I have taken a needed break from watching them. I started realizing I was slipping. I was envious when I saw the prosperity of Hollywood.

One of my favorite parts of any day time television is the giveaways. You know what I’m talking about. When Ellen brings fans on her show and she gives them a brief case full of $10,000. Or when Nate Berkus remodels a room for a guest because they wrote in about their terrible living conditions or “design dilemma”.  As I watched I began to think of ways I could get on the show. I cold make a sad video. I mean after all who wouldn’t want to come and help someone get rid of their cat stained carpet and put up molding in a house where there isn’t any. Isn’t this the way God is going to take care of me. But then I realized I was slipping. I wasn’t seeing God’s care. I was seeing only my desires. I wasn’t waiting for God to work. I was trying to work it out in my own timing. But then God reminded me through His Word that He is the one who is in control, not me, not Ellen, not Nate or any one else, just God.

Whom have I in heaven but you?

And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you.

My flesh and my heart may fail,

but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

For behold, those who are far from you shall perish;

you put an end to everyone who is unfaithful to you.

But for me it is good to be near God;

I have made the Lord God my refuge,

that I may tell of all your works.

And here I am understanding more fully what these verses mean. All I need is the Lord. He is taking care of us, and as He does we can boast on Him and no one else.

One response to “Slipping on Ellen and other promises from the World

Leave a Reply

