Sunday Sermons – Highs and Lows of the Week

Hi Everyone! Sorry for not posting earlier. I really struggled this week with what to write. There have been some deep lows, but as I remembered the week there were some great highs. The Lord pressed on my heart that I could not keep either to myself because He is in them both.

This past Sunday morning Pastor was preaching an amazing sermon about fear. The Lord was really using it in  my life. About 2/3 of the way through the message I began to get really dizzy and had to get Derick to walk me home. It was a little disappointing because I was really starting to feel a lot better. I was worried I would miss the Sunday night service again.

Thankfully, God was in it. I made it to the evening service and got to hear testimonies of two of our college girls who spent the summer counseling at a nearby Christian camp. I have known these girls a long time. One in fact lives with us. I was so proud of what the Lord has done in their lives over the summer.

However, the real highlight was hearing a young college guy deliver his first sermon. I have known him since he was 8 years old. He has struggled in college and with many other things, but with Derick’s countless hours of working with him getting his sermon ready he delivered a wonderful sermon. It is hard to put into the words the pride and joy I felt seeing what God has done in his life. It brought tears to my eyes (the good kind of course).

Then on Monday the lows began to hit. We had more car trouble and have had some hard decisions to make about what to do about keeping it. We are still not quite sure what to do, but God is already teaching us and showing us that He will supply for our needs. It is easy to say when we have what we want, but when we are really struggling and have to go without it is harder to trust. God has already shown us some miracles this week so I am not looking at the highs and lows but on Jesus.

Leave a Reply

