Sunday Sermons

I’m going to break my Sunday Sermon rule again and post something from a sermon I heard on Friday. My husband and I run our church’s youth group. It is a great ministry but at times can be heartbreaking. In the last two years we have inherited a whole new generation of youth. When we started working with the youth group we had the same 15 teens for a about 5 years. After saying goodbye to the last of the original youth group we gained about 25 new 7th to 8th graders. We had grown used to having older teens and the transition to the younger teens was very, very . . . . let’s just say different. Right now we are working to build our relationships with them and essentially starting over.

One of the hardest things about this new group is that most are newly saved and many are struggling with their relationship with the Lord. The pull of this world is evident in their lives. Some even admit that they are not saved at all. My husband is faithful to give the gospel every sermon he preaches and we are praying that they will soon be transformed lives. This past Friday was no exception.

I will not go into too many details because there was one quote  I believe summed up the entire sermon and was so thought provoking to me. (Of course, I might be a little biased when it comes to my husband’s speaking.) Below is the quote. I would love to hear your thoughts on it.

“YOU are not the self that you are craving. What you are craving is the SELF-EXISTENT ONE.” by Derick Scudder

Just to give you a little context Derick spoke on the Self-existence of God. The fact that we are not meant to find joy in this world. We were created for God and that we are created with a built in desire to know God and enjoy Him.

I would love to hear from you. I also hope to have Sunday Sermons continue tomorrow so I can share more of what I learned on Sunday. I know, I’m breaking all kinds of self-imposed rules it must be the Summer heat.

 

Leave a Reply

