Homemade Ice Cream Sandwiches

I love ice cream sandwiches especially chipwiches. So, this week I decided to make my own. We were having company over and I saw the idea from Kraft Magazine. The recipe featured in the mag said that you could use chips ahoy cookies, but my husband loves my chocolate chip cookies so I decided to do it from scratch. I figured I would pass along some of the things I learned.

First, get toll house chocolate chips. I think they work the best. I use the recipe on the back of the package, but one thing I discovered is that if you use salted butter you do not need to add any additional salt. This helped me keep my cookies from going flat. Also, I’ve learned that you need to only use one cookie sheet at a time in the oven. Also, before putting additional dough on the cookie sheet to make sure it is cooled completely. I alternate between two cookie sheets so that one will cool while I have another in the oven. I also like my cookies barely cooked. This helps keep the cookies soft. I hate cookies that taste like cake. So, I cute them for only 9-10 min. When they barely turn brown around the edges of the cookie. I take them out of the oven and set it on the stove top and let them cook on the hot sheet for about 2-3 minutes more. Then I transfer them to a cooling rack.

One thing I learned in making the ice cream sandwiches is that the cookies need to cool for at least 2 hours before trying to make them into sandwiches. I did not wait long enough when I made them. The cookies were a little too warm and soft. they started to fall apart when I added the ice cream. But I scooped softened vanilla ice cream onto one side. Add the other cookie on top and then rolled the sides in chopped salted peanuts. You could also use mini chocolate chips or jimmys (that is what we call sprinkles here in philly) if you don’t like nuts.

Hope you enjoy this treat. I know I did. LOVED THEM!!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

