When People Are Big and God is Small

I recently read a book called “When People Are Big and God is Small” by Ed Welch. I highly recommend it.

This week I was reminding myself of the biblical truth I received reading this book. I have always struggled with wanting people to like me. Thankfully, throughout my life, I have had very little trouble getting along with other people. I tend to make friends easily and even if I am not really close to someone they generally like me. I guess it is all part of our human nature to want to be liked by people. How many people do you know that when you first meet them say, “I hope you really don’t like me because I am really hoping to die alone.” Sure there are many people, who by their actions, push others away. I would argue that even those people are just doing it because they want others to like them but are afraid they won’t, so they sever the relationship before you have a chance to.

I really struggle when I know someone doesn’t like me. I have a hard time accepting it. It is almost like an obsession that takes over where I try to manipulate the situation so that they would like me. I think, “if I did this for them they would see how great I am.” But sometimes it just isn’t God’s will. As a Pastor’s wife there will always be one person that’s just not into you. I’m learning its okay.

My husband knew I was struggling with this and he pointed me to God’s word and this book. There was one simple truth that really hit me. The truth is that because I am accepted by God I do not need anyone’s approval. He is all I need. And, the world can hate me, all can forsake me, but God’s love for me will not change. It really gave me a new perspective. I don’t have to be afraid to be me. I don’t have to be afraid to minister with God’s word because He loves me. I can walk into any situation, any confrontation, any service and be confident in the fact that I am accepted by the Creator of the Universe. I am loved by the Redeemer of my soul.

I know this is a DUH moment, but it was very life changing for me. I knew God’s love, but I never realized that this truth plays a very big role in my fears and in my relationships with others.

Leave a Reply

