Is Piano My Forte?

I’ve always wanted to learn to play the piano. So, my freshman year of college I determined to learn. I took piano classes at my Christian college and eventually moved to private lessons by my senior year. After I graduated I didn’t have a lot of time to spend playing or taking lessons, but after having my daughter and becoming a stay at home mom I decided to work on it again. Thankfully, my mother-in-law has been awesome enough to give me some lessons. So, I have been working on it again for the last 2 years. I like playing, but only at home. Which what is the point of learning to play if you never play for anyone.

Thankfully my mother-in-law gives me the push I need to play. I just performed at a recital two Sundays ago. Let me tell you, the recital keeps me humble. Have you ever been a 27 year old playing in a recital with 5-14 year old kids? I am the tallest and oldest one in the pew, by far the tallest and oldest. Again, I wouldn’t be doing it were it not for the prodding of my piano teacher. It is good for performing, bad for my ego.

After the recital I was talking with Derick who says, “I’m proud of you for playing. If I were you I wouldn’t have the guts to keep trying.” “Thanks hun! (said sarcastically from me). I don’t think trying was the right word you wanted to use.” After back peddling a bit he made me feel a little better about what he was saying. Although sometimes it is exactly how I feel.

Then this Sunday our 1st and 2nd string piano players were out of town leaving me to play for our Sunday worship service. I think it went okay but it is not my favorite. I hate doing it but afterward am glad for the opportunity. I took piano for the purpose of using it for the Lord so I’m thankful He gives me the opportunity to play. I messed up a whole lot and played a lot slower than the other piano players would, but God can use anything. So, I’ll keep practicing and playing for the Lord.

One response to “Is Piano My Forte?

  1. My parents paid for me to take piano lessons for nine years. My junior year in high school, my teacher held a recital. She had us sit/perform in order of skill level. The kid who went before me was in kindergarten. I was allowed to quite after that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

