Sunday’s Sermons

“So I’ve got to tell you that if you do not worship God seven days a week, you do not worship Him on one day a week. There is no such thing known in heaven as Sunday worship unless it is accompanied by Monday worship and Tuesday worship and so on….” AW Tozer

My Pastor included the above quote in the sermon today. The sermon was based on the narrative in Genesis 22 where Abraham offers Isaac as a sacrifice.

I was convicted by the message’s application that worship is only worship when we have total submission to God and that true worship costs us something. The above quote by Tozer is always so convicting. It was a good reminder to me that prayer, singing, listening to God’s word are elements of worship, but they are not worship in  and of themselves. I need this reminder often because I get so distracted by these elements of worship I forget the One I am worshiping. I forget that I am to be thinking of God and God alone. His lovingkindness, goodness, all powerfulness, sovereignty. This is the God I am to worship.

My prayer after this Sunday’s Sermon is that my life would be a life of worship to God. May I worship Him in “spirit and in truth”‘ (John 4:24).

Leave a Reply

