Only what’s done for Christ will last.

My husband is getting a message ready for a Quinceanera (Hi.spanic Sweet 16 except it’s a sweet 16). It is for a wonderful girl in our youth group and we are excited to be a part of it. It is hard for Derick to get ready for this sermon. What do you preach at a party? The Lord brought him to CT Studd. Studying Studd’s life has been eye opening. For both Derick and myself. The other day Derick was sharing some of what he learned.

CT Studd gave away all he had to follow Christ. He had a fortune that he inherited from his father (the equivalent of $4 million dollars by today’s standard)  and he gave it all away to be a missionary. He wanted to live a life of complete trust in God’s provision. His wife and him spent the first 5 years of their marriage in the interior of China sleeping on a one inch thick comforter. They eventually had to get rid of the comforter because it was taken over by scorpions. After spending over 10 years on the mission fields of China and India he had to return home for health reasons. All the doctor’s told him that he could no longer work on foreign mission field because his health was so bad. However, CT Studd felt that God wanted him to go to the interior of Africa. So, against the doctor’s warnings he went anyway. All the mission boards refused to give him any money. So, without any money he traveled to Africa. In the last 20 years of his life he only saw his wife one night. She came to visit him in Africa and spoke to the many Cannibal converts that CT Studd had led to the Lord.

CT Studd wrote a book called “The Chocolate Soldier”. I think Studd’s claims of weak Christians to be true. He says we are all Chocolate Soldiers and when we are exposed to the heat we melt away. We are made of nothing more than sweet sugar not willing to go through hard times.

Then CT Studd blessed us all with the following poem. After learning more of his life the poem has greater meaning to me.

“Two little lines I heard one day,
Traveling along life’s busy way;
Bringing conviction to my heart,
And from my mind would not depart;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past,
Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, yes only one,
Soon will its fleeting hours be done;
Then, in ‘that day’ my Lord to meet,
And stand before His Judgement seat;
Only one life,’twill soon be past,
Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, the still small voice,
Gently pleads for a better choice
Bidding me selfish aims to leave,
And to God’s holy will to cleave;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past,
Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, a few brief years,
Each with its burdens, hopes, and fears;
Each with its clays I must fulfill,
living for self or in His will;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past,
Only what’s done for Christ will last.

When this bright world would tempt me sore,
When Satan would a victory score;
When self would seek to have its way,
Then help me Lord with joy to say;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past,
Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Give me Father, a purpose deep,
In joy or sorrow Thy word to keep;
Faithful and true what e’er the strife,
Pleasing Thee in my daily life;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past,
Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Oh let my love with fervor burn,
And from the world now let me turn;
Living for Thee, and Thee alone,
Bringing Thee pleasure on Thy throne;
Only one life, “twill soon be past,
Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, yes only one,
Now let me say,”Thy will be done”;
And when at last I’ll hear the call,
I know I’ll say “twas worth it all”;
Only one life,’twill soon be past,
Only what’s done for Christ will last. ”

— extra stanza —

Only one life, ’twill soon be past,
Only what’s done for Christ will last.
And when I am dying, how happy I’ll be,
If the lamp of my life has been burned out for Thee.”

C.T Studd

Leave a Reply

