Little Minds, Big Responsibilities

Today as I was hanging out with my two year old she turned to me and said, “Mom, I have a question for you. What is the Bible?” It took me a second to even understand what she was talking about because it seemed like it came out of nowhere. I tried as best I could to answer that question in toddler terms. She seemed to understand some of what I said before she ran away singing Veggie Tale songs.

It was a quick reminder to me of the big responsibility I have to teach my daughter. I want her to feel free to ask me those questions always. I also want her to have questions about God, the Bible, and the gospel and not just about Disney Princesses. Not that she can’ t ask about Disney, but if that is all she is being exposed to than I would be failing as a mother. I was so proud of her for coming up with such a question.

I have been going through a Bible Memorization program with her and was encouraged to keep going. It helped me to see that her little mind is absorbing more than I realize. I forget she is watching everything and learning so quickly. I look forward to having more conversations with my little girl.

Leave a Reply

