Sunday’s Sermons

I hope, by God’s grace to bring you Sunday’s Sermons. There are many times after Sunday morning worship that I have been convicted by the sermon, but instead of taking the time to meditate on the sermon I forget. I become that forgetful hearer that James talks about in James 1:22-25 “But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves. For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man who looks intently at his natural face in a mirror. For he looks at himself and goes away and at once forgets what he was like. But the one who looks into the perfect law, the law of liberty, and perseveres, being no hearer who forgets but a doer who acts, he will be blessed in his doing.” So, my goal is to take the time to meditate on what I have learned on Sundays. I want to escape from the hustle and bustle of my Sundays and force myself to remember what I heard so that I can become a doer. I hope you will enjoy these windows into my meditation.

For this first Sunday Sermon post I am not going to share this week’s sermon. I know this is not good thematic writing. It might even be considered bad writing since I am not even sticking to my own rules, but here we go. I wanted to start off by sharing a testimony from my Shepherd Group Sunday School Class.

Recently, we started memorizing Scripture together in our Shepherd Group time. All of us in our group picked verses that we would like to memorize. When we get to the verse that we picked each member shares why they chose that verse for the group to memorize. It has been a great time.

This week it was my mom’s turn to share the verse. (I know I’m spoiled to be ministering in a church where my parents are in my Shepherd group and my father-in-law is the pastor.) My mom has a very awesome testimony of how she came to the Lord. She shared some of it this morning in our group. I won’t be sharing too many of those details now, but stay tuned. I hope to be sharing more in future posts. No matter how many times I hear it, I am always in wonder of God’s amazing grace.

My mom’s verse for our group was Psalm 19:14 “Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.” My mom is such a great teacher. I forget that at times. She spent some time in the group talking about why the verse was so important to her. Here are some of the things she shared that were convicting to me.

1. Let the words of my mouth – the Lord wants us to remember all of our outward actions. Not just our actual words, but our actions and lifestyle.

2. the meditation of my heart – this includes my true self. What only God can see. What I am really like when no one is around. What I think about and who I am deep inside.

3. be acceptable in Your sight – God is always watching. He sees the outer and the inner portions of our lives. This phrase gives us perspective. It reminds us why we exist. Every part of our lives should be for God’s glory, and acceptable, meaning in harmony with who God is and His character.

4. O Lord – God has the right to make these claims in our life because He is our Lord. He is our Creator and therefore has the right to tell us what to do.

5. my Rock – He is the foundation on which we build our lives. He is the One we rely on for strength to make our words and meditations acceptable.

6. and my Redeemer – The only way we can be acceptable in God’s sight is through our Savior. He is the One who has paid the price for our sins so we can have the Righteousness of Christ. It is through our salvation that we have any hope to be accepted in God’s sight.

Thank you for meditating with me. I hope you enjoyed the Word. I know I have.

One response to “Sunday’s Sermons

  1. In the church I grew up in as a girl (the church my dad founded when I was born), we repeated that verse at the end of every Sunday School. It is indelibly fixed in my mind forever, and it is such a wonderful verse. I wish we could all say it frequently as we leave church so we would all have it cemented in our hearts. Great meditation–and great idea to go over the sermons and share them.

Leave a Reply

