Call Me Butterfingers

I hate the feeling I get when I drop something and it breaks. My friends and family are always teasing me about how clumsy I am. I have always been that way. My very first steps were in a vacation trailer. My parents tell me I stood up and ran to the door that was not locked. I pushed on it with all my might. The door flew open and I fell down the stairs. It went downhill from there. When I was about 5 or 6 years old I had constant rug burn on my forehead from falling down the stairs so many times. I used to think I was getting better, but just 3 weeks ago I fell down my outside stairs and hurt my ankle. I was helping my husband pack the car. I only had one suitcase in my hands. I took one step and crumpled to the ground.

Not only am I clumsy with falling but I am very clumsy with dropping things. We are on our 5th set of glasses in only 5 1/2 years of marriage. We finally broke down and bought plastic ones so that we wouldn’t have to keep replacing them. Last night I broke one of my favorite casserole dishes. I had put it on the stove as I was emptying the dishwasher and as I turned around it fell crashing into a million pieces. I can tell you many more stories of all the things I have broken or lost. It also seems like the very things I have saved up for or the things that are special to me are the very things that break. (For example: I bought a new couch for our new home and when some friends were moving it they poked a hole right in the back of it.)

It really used to be a crushing thing to me when I would lose or break something. But God is so good. He recently showed me that I can use these depressing times of loss as a springboard to think of eternity. I love Matthew 6:19-21 “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” The Lord has shown me that when I feel that sense of loss it is good because it reminds me that the things of this world were not meant to last. Only God and what is done for Him is what matters in eternity. So, goodbye casserole dish, glasses, jewelry, couch, and everything I own. You are not my treasure. You were never intended to bring me joy. That can only come from God the giver of all gifts. Also, I can’t wait to get to heaven and know that nothing will ever break again.

2 responses to “Call Me Butterfingers

  1. First off I would like to say great blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your thoughts before writing. I have had a hard time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out there. I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips? Thank you!

    • Thank you for the comment. To be honest I was very shocked to be asked about writing advice. I consider myself the worst writer I know. But I will share what I do and hope that it helps. I usually have all my ideas formulated before I sit down to write. Most of my favorite posts are ones that I couldn’t get out of my head until I sat down and wrote it out. I try to just write out all my thoughts and later if I need to organize what is already written or correct the grammar or sentence structure. So, I guess my only advise is just write. Worry about how clear it is after everything is out on “paper” and then go back and clean it up. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

