My Husband is the Hospitable One

Yesterday, probably like many of you, we had some people over for Memorial Day. I did the traditional getting ready for company by cleaning up the house in the morning. Putting things away, wiping things down, shoving unwanted clutter into our bedroom. (Don’t judge, you know you do it too.) We put out some food, and then waited for our guests to arrive. It was a great time of fellowship and fun.

Most people come in and thank me for the food and for the hospitality, but really they should be thanking my husband. Don’t get me wrong. I like having people over. I enjoy cooking for them and I enjoy the fellowship. However, I usually don’t go out of my way to plan for it. My husband is always thinking of others. He is always thinking of the next couple, or teen, or family, or single person he would like to have over for dinner or a game day. Or in the past, even someone who is in need of housing to stay with us (average live in guest stays about 6 months or longer). Again, people usually assume I am the one who has planned it, but the truth is my husband puts me to shame when it comes to hospitality. The wonderful thing is he doesn’t just come up with these ideas for me to do, but is a hand in had partner when it comes to getting ready. He helps with the cooking, cleaning, and entertaining. I love him for that. If it were up to me, I would be perfectly happy sitting at home by myself reading a book or watching a movie. I would be a perfect hermit. But I’m thankful for the fellowship and the good times I have had in having a husband that encourages us to open our home to others. I am thankful that we can be a blessing to others with our home, or should I say God’s home.

 

Leave a Reply

