Keeping It In

Proverbs 20:3 “It is an honor for a man to keep aloof from strife, but every fool will be quarreling.”

Proverbs 17:14 “The beginning of strife is like letting out water, so quit before the quarrel breaks out.

Do you ever replay conversations over and over again in your head? Do you ever plan future conversations? Thinking and rethinking what you will say? You go through the conversation you had and begin reworking it till it morphs into a conversation you wish you had instead. This happens to me all the time. After I’ve wasted time trying to change the past conversation, I begin to plan the future conversation. I think of all the ways I am going to “clear the air”, “get things off my chest”, “let it all out”. This is a pretty amazing feat since I am not only planning what I am going to say, but somehow I magically gain the ability to look into the future and somehow predict exactly what the other person will say and how they will react to my well thought out conversation.

Thankfully, God is good. He is the One who owns the past.  He is the One who truly knows the future. He is the One who has planned it out. He knows the other person’s heart and because He knows my heart He often intervenes and confronts my heart before I can cause a fight. God is gracious isn’t He? Many times in the past I view myself as a failure or even as a coward for not truly saying all the things I had wanted to say, or planned to say. However, in my time with God this week I realized God was holding my tongue even though I hadn’t planned to. God doesn’t want us to let it out. I don’t need to make people see my point of view. I don’t always need to be right, or have the last word. I need to keep peace. I need to love others and put their feelings ahead of mine. Even if that means I keep it in. I can always talk to God about it later and leave all my burdens and feelings with Him. So, I am learning to plan the future less and talk to God more.

Leave a Reply

