My Husband’s Ordination

This past Sunday was one I will never forget. It comes in close ranking with the birth of my child and my wedding day. This past weekend I witnessed my husband’s ordination. I was surprised how emotional it was during the service. However, when I sat to think about the occasion, I shouldn’t have been all that surprised. It is a glorious thing to be called by God  to preach the Word. It is an awesome thing to be trusted as a shepherd of God’s people. So, when I saw my husband being sworn into the duties of the office of overseer, it should not be shocking that I, along with the others in the congregation, shed a few joyous tears.
My husband has been serving in the ministry for almost 6 years and the last 3 of those years has been in full time ministry. It hasn’t always been easy, but it is always joyful and a privilege. These last few months my husband decided to buckle down and work to be ordained. He spoke to our head pastor (who happens to be his dad) and asked that he call an ordination council together. So, this past Saturday Derick sat before 6 men for about 4 1/2 hours and answered questions. These questions ranged anywhere from personal testimony to his doctrinal statement as well as practical ministry practices. I was invited to come to share my testimony as well as answer why I believe I was called to minister along side my husband. I was allowed to stay for the entire council and I’m so glad I did. It was such a wonderful thing to see my husband open the Bible and answer competently questions like, “Was Mary the mother of God or just the human part of Jesus?”, “What safeguards do you put in your life to preserve your family life?”, and many more to recall to memory. I don’t remember every question or every answer to each question, but I will never forget the feelings I had watching my husband during the council. I was so proud of him. I have never been more attracted to my husband than in that moment. It was funny because after the council was over and we were walking home, my husband turned to me and said, “I’m sorry you had to see that.” I just looked at him in shock. He thought that somehow that lessened my view of him. That somehow I saw him as a weaker person. He was shocked when I told him that it made him all the more attractive to me. I’ve never seen him stronger. Of course, this situation just reaffirmed what we all know that fundamentally men and women are completely different beings.
On Sunday, not all the members of the ordination board could be there, but it was an awesome service. My husband’s father gave a charge to him and then his grandfather (another member on the ordination board) gave a charge to the congregation. His grandfather announced that the board from the day before unanimously voted that Derick be recommended for ordination by the church.  The elders of our church as well as his grandfather and father laid hands on him and prayed for him as well as his future ministry. The congregation was overjoyed. We celebrated after the service with a wonderful meal.
I will never forget the look his father had during the service. I will never forget the love of our congregation that was showered upon us in words and in their presence there on that day. It will be a day that will long stick in my memory because it is a day that we celebrated the calling of God in our lives and His confirmation that there is nothing else in this world that we should be doing but live our lives in full time service to our Maker and Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

